First Top 10 for Animated Shows

Ten reviews, ten grades, first listing.

Here at AniB Productions, I’ll be keeping track of all the graded reviews I’ve published so far and every so often give an updated version of this list. Here’s the initial top 10:

  1. Gravity Falls (98%)
  2. Avatar: The Last Airbender (98%)
  3. Cowboy Bebop (97%)
  4. Young Justice* (93%)
  5. The Legend of Korra (85%)
  6. Codename: Kids Next Door (84%)
  7. Dragon Ball Z (84%)
  8. Phineas and Ferb (84%)
  9. Neon Genesis Evangelion (81%)
  10. Fanboy and Chum Chum (9%)

(NOTE: “*” denotes a preliminary review, or a show that is still in progress.)

I’ll just note that technically Gravity Falls and ATLA are tied for first…but among that top 3, it’s splitting hairs.


Have a show you wish to appear on this list? Agree or disagree? Leave a comment!

Author: anibproductions

I am the founder and writer of AniB Productions, currently a fledgling blog with a focus on animated shows from both the East and the West. Love Buffalo sports, good political discussion, and an interesting conversation wherever I go.

8 thoughts on “First Top 10 for Animated Shows”

  1. I do love lists, and this is a good recap of what you’ve covered so far. I’d have Phineas and Ferb a tad higher (probably under Korra), but otherwise the rankings make total sense. Ten down and plenty more to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Seems a bit early to be doing a top 10, but but it’s your blog so have at it and might make an interesting thing to upgrade on a regular basis (or not, I’m not sure).

    I’ll still give a little commentary to all of the shows listed.

    1. Gravity Falls: I’ve already talked about this series, and frankly I could talk about it a lot more. What I liked, didn’t like, what I would have wanted, how things came to be etc. Even after a year I still have a lot of complex feelings (positive and negative) about this show, and I guess that in and of itself is worthy of praise.

    2. Avatar: Definitely the Star Wars of animation, and I mean that in the best way possible. When you take a look Avatar’s setting it’s actually pretty simplistic, and the story is about as “Hero’s Journey” as you can get. Still, the show executes and gives it’s twist on those tropes and executes it all with a surprising mastery from a Nickelodeon series, let alone an animated one.

    3. Cowboy Bebop: The odd Quentin Tarantino film turned animated series was something that I enjoyed quite a bit on my initial viewing, and yet if you gave me the option to watch it again I’d probably decline. I’m not entirely sure why, but I think as I’ve grown older and seen more media, Cowboy Bebop seems a little bit more blase then the other, more quirky, space western anime that were around at the time (Trigun, and Outlaw Star). Still required viewing for anyone looking into classic anime.

    4. Young Justice: Even if I didn’t care for it initially I still want to give it another run. If nothing I want to see how they incorporate the Blue Beetle into it since I actually own and enjoy the mid to late 2000s run of his comic.

    5. Legend of Korra: I think I will always appreciate how LoK really tried to expand on it’s setting and tried to do things with politics and religion, even if (not unlike Star Wars) it did not necessarily do any of those things well. Even if the show did pick up a lot of steam in it’s third season, LoK will sadly always exist in the shadow of the safer, but better crafted ATLA.

    6. Codename: Kids Next Door: I still don’t know how I feel about this show; if whether treating the “generational conflict” more seriously as the show went on was a good thing or not. I’ll probably never know.

    7. Dragon Ball Z: Certainly something I watched a lot as a kid, but not something I would revisit as an adult. With time I think I may even outgrow the shonen action genre altogether, but then again maybe not.

    8. Phineas and Ferb: In many ways this show was kind of Disney’s counterpart to TTG as the show that was on at all hours when they couldn’t think of something else to put in the time slot. Unlike TTG, Phineas and Ferb was an entertaining show that people looked forward to and didn’t mind watching over and over again . . . well, maybe a little.

    9. Neon Genesis Evangelion: I still enjoy this series and would watch it again, though I admit that that is probably at least some nostalgia talking, as I probably watched at the ideal age (mid teens) for it to really appeal to me. Another factor is that I just still have a deep affection for mecha series and there are fewer mecha franchises as big and influential as this.

    10. Fanboy and Chum Chum: I’ve probably seen no more then 20 seconds combined of this show. I don’t think I need to see anymore.

    It’s actually pretty interesting to see that so far you’ve only done one truly negative review and that you haven’t reviewed any films yet. I’m sure that will all come in time, but it’s still interesting to note.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has been an interesting combination of shows… I figured it’d be best to keep track of every show I wrote about and the grade I assigned them accordingly; I’ll probably update this top 10 list after every 10 reviews; these just happened to be the first 10 shows. I enjoyed your mini-breakdown here of your experiences with the shows; it was very entertaining to read, and as usual, contained some insightful commentary (and at this point, I think I’ve come to expect that from you!). As for future reviews… I’ll do films at some point, but for now, I’m sticking with shows. There are also some shows that I can give a blistering beatdown to, but I guess I’ve only chosen one of those so far just by luck of the draw. I think in the next batch of upcoming reviews, expect to see at least 1, if not 2 of those types of reviews!

      Like

      1. I’d actually be more interested what a more middle of the road rating looks like form you. Those can be either series that were really average, or something where the good is weighed down by the bad and etc. These sort of things can actually inspire more intense emotions then series that were overtly bad or good, especially if you can see the show you wanted underneath the show you got, so to speak.

        I’m also curious if you will review individual episodes of series. That may not be all that practical given all the stuff you do as well, and picking which episodes to review would probably be a little difficult , but it could be interesting especially if the episode in contrast with the rest of the show for whatever reason.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I do in fact have plenty of series on hold with middle of the road grades…I find them interesting for the same reasons you do, so you’ll hopefully get to see an example sooner rather than later! As for individual episodes…I may at some point. I do work through a lot of material, so developing a series on specific episodes might be something you’d see down the line…One of the best parts about writing on animation is that it’s very flexible, and individual episodes would also be a great way to star shows that might otherwise not be mentioned in the same breath as the truly great ones. (Plenty of shows have at least one outstanding individual episode.)

        Like

  3. Good shows also have their uncharacteristically poor episodes, and their are some episodes that no one can agree on. I’m sure there will be no shortage of things to talk about, though narrowing it down might be a bit of an undertaking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely- this point is very true. Avatar for example, had “The Great Divide” in season 1- which while better than actual bad shows, was uncharacteristically mediocre by the show’s standards. It is an endeavor worth doing- but I’ll have to set aside some time to really think about how best to go about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

